What is the Vestry?

The Vestry is the governing board of the parish and consists of the Rector, the Wardens and lay members. The Vestry at Holy Communion currently has 15 members. Each year at our Annual Meeting the congregation elects new members for three-year terms. Once in place, the Vestry annually selects a Senior Warden and a Junior Warden to serve as vestry leaders.

The Rector presides at meetings of the Vestry, which handles the parish’s business and temporal matters. Additionally, the Vestry serves as a council of advice for the Rector. As its primary responsibility, the Vestry oversees the parish’s financial health. In partnership with the Rector, it develops and approves the annual parish budget. The Vestry also serves as an advisory council to the Rector, who by church law is the parish’s chief liturgical and pastoral officer. The Vestry meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 5:45 in Room 308.

Ann Duncan, Senior Warden
Tom McQuiston, Junior Warden
Robert Propst, Clerk
John Lewis, Treasurer

Terms expire Jan. 2016:
Ann Duncan, Vicki Park, Cliff Sulcer, Carmine Vaughan, David Visinsky
Terms expire Jan. 2017:
Daniel Amsler, Tom McQuiston, Robert Propst, Lisa Roberts, Emily Woodside
Terms expire Jan. 2018:
Bill Bateman, Katie Collier, Sarah Cowens, Louis Jehl, Lattimore Michael